Client – Hafod Trust
Location – Hafod, Aberystwyth
Commission – Full Architectural Service
Over the last 15 years, the Hafod Trust has been carefully researching and reinstating parts of the ‘picturesque’ landscape and in particular the walks created by Thomas Johnes at Hafod. The chain bridge was originally constructed in 1805 and completed the new walk along the Ystwyth Gorge. In 2003 it was rebuilt as part of the new Gothic Arcade walk.
The remains of the bridge lie within the Hafod Scheduled Monument and consist of two pairs of cast iron columns and pairs of iron anchors, lead grouted into the rock abutments. The remains were archaeologically excavated and surveyed in 1997 revealing further evidence of iron rope and fixings providing the support for the suspended deck.
The bridge was completed in 2003 reusing all the original cast iron anchors, posts and ‘fairleads’ with new galvanised and stainless steel rope and fixings. The deck was constructed from green oak boards with side protection from manila rope netting.